Poulenc

© DYOD

Poulenc, entre ombre et lumière

Music – Conference

 Monday 5 October 2020       SOLD OUT!
18.30 / 20.30
Duration : 1 hour
Language : French
Max Hallet House
Avenue Louise 346, 1050 Ixelles
18.00 : guided tour FR – FULL!
(limited places, max. 15 people)

It is tempting to reduce Poulenc’s music to its earthy, typical Parisian vigour. Of course there is an irresistible energy in his works just as there is melodic charm and rhythmic vitality. 

However, his music is not limited to these categories; there is a profound melancholy and a sometimes overwhelming contemplation. Poulenc is the composer of l’Histoire de Babar but also of the Dialogues des carmélites.

The repertoire for woodwinds perfectly illustrates the ambivalence between shadow and light in the composer’s production. This dichotomy is an echo of Poulenc’s own life, monk or scoundrel, oscillating between an exuberant fantasy and his particularly intense Catholic faith. 

Over these two concerts, you will discover Poulenc’s complete works for winds and piano interspersed with texts echoing the life of the composer and also from the times in which these pieces were composed. An historical plunge, with the shimmering colours of period instruments.

 

ARTISTS

Ensemble Dialoghi
Cristina Esclapez – Pianoforte
Josep Domènech – Oboe
Lorenzo Coppola – Clarinet
Bart Aerbeydt – Horn
Javier Zafra – Bassoon
Georges Barthel – Flute

Antoine Pecqueur – Speaker

Sylvie Cujas05/10/2020 | Poulenc, entre ombre et lumière

Poulenc

© DYOD

Poulenc, entre ombre et lumière

Musique – Conférence

Lundi 5 octobre 2020     COMPLET
18h30 / 20h30
Durée : 1 heure
Langue : français
Hôtel Max Hallet
Avenue Louise 346, 1050 Ixelles
18h00 : visite guidée FR – COMPLET !
(places limitées, max. 15 personnes)

Il serait tentant de réduire la musique de Poulenc à sa verve truculente, typiquement parisienne. Bien sûr, il y a une énergie irrésistible dans ses oeuvres, tant dans le charme mélodique que dans la vitalité rythmique.

Mais sa musique ne se limite pas à des partitions légères : on y trouve aussi une profonde mélancolie, un recueillement parfois bouleversant. Poulenc est le compositeur de l’Histoire de Babar comme du Dialogues des carmélites.

Le répertoire pour vents illustre parfaitement l’ambivalence entre ombre et lumière de sa production. Cette dichotomie fait écho à la vie même de Poulenc, «moine ou voyou», qui oscilla entre la fantaisie la plus exubérante et une foi catholique particulièrement intense.

Au fil de ces deux concerts, vous découvrirez l’intégrale des oeuvres pour vents et piano de Poulenc, entrecoupées de textes faisant écho à la vie du compositeur mais aussi à l’époque où ont été composées ces pièces. Une plongée historique, avec également la présence d’instruments d’époque, aux couleurs chatoyantes.

 

ARTISTES

Ensemble Dialoghi

Cristina Esclapez – Pianoforte
Josep Domènech – Hautbois
Lorenzo Coppola – Clarinette
Bart Aerbeydt – Cor
Javier Zafra – Basson
Georges Barthel – Flûte

Antoine Pecqueur – Conférencier

Sylvie Cujas05/10/2020 | Poulenc, entre ombre et lumière