Heritage Days

Brussels, 18 & 19 September 2021


Incontro

The Bibliotheca Wittockiana, as a museum and library organising various educational and cultural activities, is a place of encounters: between books and readers, literature and the plastic arts, crafts and science, and so on.

Incontro forms part of this process of meeting and sharing. We listen not only with our ears and brain but with our whole body. And it is our body that links us all together: composers, performers, listeners, etc. The concert is a place where the body mediates, where musicians and the audience share the same experience. 

Incontro is a show in which dancer Mark Lorimer and instrumentalists Marieke Bouche, Wendy Ruymen and Thomas Luks allow us to feel and see this sharing process, in a poetic, playful and intuitive way. 

Stage direction: Damien Tresanini

Features trios by Schubert, Beethoven and Jadin. 

 

Practical information:

Saturday 18 & Sunday 19 at 14:45, 15:45 and 16:45 (duration: 20 minutes). 

Booking not required but numbers are limited. Doors will open 15 minutes before the show. 

Bibliotheca Wittockiana, Rue du Bemel 23, Woluwe-Saint-Pierre

T 39-44 (Jules César/Julius Cesar)
B 36 (Océan Atlantique/Atlantische Oceaan)

not accessible

Car-free Sunday on 19 September 2021. The entire Brussels Region will be closed to traffic from 9.30 am to 7 pm.

Wittockiana

Bibliotheca Wittockiana – built between 1981 and 1983 – was designed by architect Emmanuel de Callataÿ, who was commissioned by Michel Wittock to create a modern-day shrine to books. Somewhat uniquely, the resulting building, which won the Belgian Architecture Award in 1988, is partly sunk below ground level. Ivy now entwines its ribbed cast-concrete shell, enabling it to blend in seamlessly with its natural surroundings. Many artists were involved in the library’s creation: Émile Veranneman designed the furniture in the section for rare and antique books, its red lacquer reminiscent of the sumptuous morocco leather used in book bindings, while Jacqueline Guillermain and Denmark (the artistic name of Marc Robbroeckx) created a number of book-related contemporary artworks for the building. In 1996, another storey was added to the complex: a light metal-and glass structure devised by architect Charly Wittock, the youngest son of the library’s founder. The library’s splendid collection numbers several thousand items, including a French Renaissance binding by Jean Picard and binding designs by Belgian artists like Henry Van de Velde, Berthe Van Regemonter and Jo Delahaut. Today, the building and its contents are owned by the King Baudouin Foundation, which ensures their long-term preservation. The institution organises exhibitions and meetings on the theme of books and also welcomes researchers or visitors wishing to learn about this heritage unmatched anywhere else in Belgium. The Bibliotheca Wittockiana is much more than a museum – it is a place for meeting, creation and exchange. 

Exhibition: “Geneviève Asse – A window on the book”. The exhibition will showcase the work of Geneviève Asse in the world of books. A leading contemporary abstract artist, Geneviève Asse (born in 1923) has collaborated throughout her artistic career with authors, publishers and bookbinders. These meetings and friendships have resulted in the creation of dialogue books.

Guided tours: Sat. & Sun. at 10:00, 11:30, 13:30 and 15:00 (in French); 10:30, 12:00, 14:00 and 15:30 (in Dutch). In cooperation with E-Guides. 

Heritage Days 2021

 

“The European Commission’s support for the production of this publication does not constitute an endorsement of the contents, which reflect the views only of the authors, and the Commission cannot be held responsible for any use which may be made of the information contained therein.”

Jens Van den NieuwenhuysenHeritage Days 2021

Heritage Days

Bruxelles, 18 & 19 septembre 2021


Incontro

La Wittockiana est un lieu de rencontre : entre œuvres et lecteurs, entre littérature et art plastique, artisanat et science… Incontro s’inscrit dans cette démarche de rencontre et de partage.

Nous n’écoutons pas qu’avec nos oreilles et avec notre cerveau, mais avec tout notre corps. Et c’est bien ce corps qui nous relie tous, compositeur, interprète, auditeur… Le concert est un lieu de rencontre, où le corps sert de médiateur, où musiciens et public créent et vivent la même expérience. Le spectacle Incontro, avec un danseur (Mark Lorimer) et trois musiciens (Marieke Bouche, Wendy Ruymen, Thomas Luks), rend sensible et visible ce partage, de manière poétique, ludique et intuitive.

Mise en espace : Damien Tresanini 

Œuvres musicales : trios de Schubert, Beethoven, Jadin.

 

 

Informations pratiques : 

Spectacles : samedi 18 septembre et dimanche 19 septembre à 14h45, 15h45, 16h45 (durée 20 minutes).

Pas de réservation préalable mais nombre de places limité (maximum 20 personnes par prestation). Accueil 15 minutes avant le spectacle. 

Bibliotheca Wittockiana, Rue du Bemel 23, Woluwe-Saint-Pierre

T 39-44 (Jules Cesar)
B 36 (Océan Atlantique)

non accessible

Dimanche sans voiture le 19 septembre 2021. L’ensemble de la Région bruxelloise sera fermée à la circulation de 9h30 à 19h.

Wittockiana

La Wittockiana fut construite entre 1981 et 1983 à l’initiative de Michel Wittock qui souhaitait créer un temple contemporain dédié au livre. Il confia le projet à l’architecte Emmanuel de Callataÿ. Le bâtiment, lauréat des Belgian Architecture Awards en 1988, présente la particularité d’être partiellement enterré. Aujourd’hui, le lierre recouvre sa structure en béton coffré strié qui s’intègre ainsi encore mieux dans la nature environnante. Quantité d’artistes travaillèrent ici. Ainsi, Émile Veranneman dessina le mobilier de la réserve précieuse dont la laque rouge rappelle le précieux maroquin des reliures. Quant à Jacqueline Guillermain ou encore Denmark, ils conçurent des œuvres d’art contemporain en rapport avec le livre. En 1996, le bâtiment a été augmenté d’un étage : une construction légère en métal et verre conçue par l’architecte Charly Wittock, fils cadet du fondateur. Riche de plusieurs milliers d’exemplaires, la collection présente aussi bien une reliure renaissance française de Jean Picard que des maquettes de reliure d’artistes belges comme Henry Van de Velde, Berthe Van Regemonter ou Jo Delahaut. Aujourd’hui, la Wittockiana, contenant comme contenu, est devenue la propriété de la Fondation Roi Baudouin qui en assure la pérennité. L’institution qui organise des expositions et des rencontres sur le thème du livre accueille aussi les chercheurs ou les visiteurs désireux de connaître ce patrimoine unique en Belgique. La Wittockiana est bien plus qu’un musée, elle est un véritable lieu de rencontre, de création et d’échanges.

Exposition « Geneviève Asse – Fenêtre sur le livre ». L’exposition met en lumière les œuvres de Geneviève Asse (1923) dans les livres. Artiste majeure de l’abstraction contemporaine, elle a collaboré, tout au long de sa carrière, avec des auteurs, des éditeurs et des relieurs. Ces rencontres et amitiés ont abouti à la création de livres de dialogues.

Visites guidées, samedi et dimanche à 10h, 11h30, 13h30 et 15h (français) et à 10h30, 12h, 14h et 15h30 (néerlandais). En collaboration avec E-Guides.

Heritage Days 2021

 

 

“The European Commission’s support for the production of this publication does not constitute an endorsement of the contents, which reflect the views only of the authors, and the Commission cannot be held responsible for any use which may be made of the information contained therein.”

Jens Van den NieuwenhuysenHeritage Days 2021